Seitan “Cheesesteaks”

As a born and raised west coaster, I can’t quite claim “these take me back to the streets of philly!” However, I can say these perfectly peppered and meaty subs brought a comfort and hearty deliciousness to my kitchen that was much appreciated.

Once you make one batch of seitan, they become incredibly quick and easy to put together and the topping choices are endless. I strayed from traditional fried onions and sub sandwich bread because I cook with what I have, but the versatility and ease are both huge pluses for such a delicious meal.

Ingredients:

about 1/3 of a loaf of seitan from this recipe here

Buns or Bread

1/2 c Onions (or desired replacement toppings such as my pictured tomato and avocado)

2 Tbsp safflower oil (or other oil for cooking)

2 teaspoons coarse ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon chilli powder

Method:

Saute thinnish strips of seitan in safflower oil on med heat.

Sprinkle with coarse ground black pepper and 1/4 tsp chilli powder

Flip strips after 3 or 4 minutes when browned

Season reverse side as before

Serve on toasted buns, with melted vegan cheese (CHAO! Finally found a yummy vegan cheese to buy in the store! 😀 Sooo excited about this!) and to be traditional, top with some fried onions.

IMG_1730

Making homemade seitan!!

IMG_1737 IMG_1741  IMG_1732

